Go to:


Department of science & technology

Sri.Pinarayi Vijayan

Chief Minister of Kerala

Office of the Chief Minister

3rd Floor,
North  Block,
Secretariat, Thiruvananthapuram,  
Kerala. PIN-695 001



E-mail: chiefminister@kerala.gov.in Residence:0471-2314853, 2318406



Department of Science & Technology

2nd Floor, Annexe 1, Govt. Secretariat

Dr. Suresh Das

Ex-officio Principal Secretary




Email- kscste@gmail.com

Related website



Mission and Vision of the department

  • The  Kerala  State Council for  Science,  Technology  and Environment (KSCSTE) was constituted in November  2002 as an autonomous  body  to  encourage and  promote   Science  and Technology related activities  in the Kerala State by restructuring the erstwhile   State  Committee for  Science,  Technology   and Environment (STEC)  established in 1972  in  concurrence with  the Science Policy of Government of India.

Services / Activities

Management of Science and Technology Programmes and overall  administration  to  promote   the  scientific  activities   in  the State.  The   programmes  of   Council   Headquarters  are   grouped focusing on following.
* Human resource Development in Science and Technology
* Technology  Development  and Innovation Programmes.
• Science Popularization and Communication
• Kerala Science  Congress
• Biotechnology Commission
The  programmes  are  carried out  through Kerala State Council for Science Technology and Environment, constituent  R&D Centres and other institutions.
Kerala  State  Council  for  Science Technology and  Environment, constituent R&D Centres & Other institutions
R&D Centres
* Centre for Water Resources Development and Management
* Jawaharlal Nehru Tropical Botanic Garden and Research Institute
* Kerala Forest Research Institute
* Kerala School of Mathematics
* National Transportation Planning and Research Centre
* Srinivas Ramanujan  Institute for Basic Sciences
* State Centre Resource Institute for Partnership in Technology
* Institute of Advanced Virology
Other institutions
* Integrated  Rural Technology Centre
* Malabar Botanical Garden
* Sophisticated Test and Instrumental Centre

Important Officials


Dr. R. Prakash Kumar
Member Secretary


Related Websites


Kerala State Council for Science , Technology & Environment www.kscste.kerala.gov.in
Centre for Water Resource Development and Management www.cwrdm.org

Kerala Engineering Research Institute (KERI), Peechi

Rajiv Gandhi Academy for Aviation Technology (RAGAAT)


National Transportation Planning and Research Centre

Kerala Forest Research Institute www.kfri.org

Patent Information Centre, Govt .of Kerala


Biotechnology Commission website

TBGRI-Official Website www.jntbgri.in
Kerala School of Mathematics www.ksom.res.in
Kerala Science Congress Website www.ksc.kerala.gov.in
Scientific Gateway - SciGate-Kerala www.scigate.kerala.gov.in