Joomla TemplatesWeb HostingWeb Hosting



Ezhuthachan Puraskaram

Resize Font

Ezhuthachan Puraskaram 2011, the highest literary honour instituted by the government of Kerala presented to Jnanapith winner Sri. M.T. Vasudevan Nair by Chief Minister Sri. Oommen Chandy on 23 December 2011. The function held at Secretariat Durbar Hall. This is in respect to the overall contributions to the Malayalam literary field. The award consists of a cash prize of Rs. 1.5 lakh and a citation. Earlier the novelist was honoured with Padma Bhushan, the third highest civilian award of the country in 2005, Jnanapita for 'Randamoozham' in 1995, Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award, Kerala Sahitya Akadami Award, and National Film Award for the best screenplay four times. M.T. announced that the amount will be donated to the children’s library at the Thunchan Smaraka Mandiram, Tirur. The cash prize has been enhanced by the U.D.F. Government this year from the previous Rs. 1 lakh.